Explore By Subject Area   

R&D Leadership Summit

Date: Mar 4, 2024 - Mar 5, 2024

Location: Manalapan, FL

Welcome to Our New Website!


Each year, the Conference Forum holds the R&D Leadership Summit®a private event for primarily senior-level R&D executives and CEOs from mid to large pharma and biotech companies, to address timely and relevant issues impacting R&D decision-making. The 2024 dates are March 4-5 at the Eau Palm Beach in Malapan, Florida. The 2024 theme is focused on accelerating R&D productivity enhancement opportunities.

Huge thanks to lead advisors Fred Hassan, Managing Director, Healthcare, Warburg Pincus, Thomas Koestler, PhD, Executive Director, Vatera Health Care Partners, Mathai Mammen, MD, PhD, CEO, FogPharma, Alise Reicin, MD, CEO, Tectonic Therapeutics, Mark Simon, Advisor, Stifel and Sun Pharma, David Reese, MD, EVP and Chief Technology Officer, Amgen, Andy Plump, MD, PhD, President, R&D, Takeda and Ron Cohen, MD, President and CEO, Acorda Therapeutics for their guidance and support on the program agenda.

Dr John Reed and Fred Hassan

image placeholder

Dr Anna Barker and Dr Laura Esserman

image placeholder
image placeholder
image placeholder

Dr Meeta Chatterjee and Dr David Reese

We are grateful for the support and participation
​​​​​​​from advisors and attendees

Ann D Barker, PhD, FAACR
Chief Strategy Officer, The Ellison Institute

Christopher Viehbacher
President and CEO, Biogen

Roy Baynes, MD, PhD
EVP and Chief Medical Officer, Eikon Therapeutics, Inc

Kim Branson, PhD
SVP Global Head of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, GSK

Jeffrey Berkowitz
CEO and Director, Real Endpoints

Melissa Bonner, PhD
SVP, Former Head of Research, bluebird bio

Ron Cohen, MD, PhD
President and CEO, Acorda Therapeutics

Rena Conti, PhD
Associate Professor, Markets, Public Policy and Law, Boston University Questrom School of Business

Steve Cutler, PhD

Robert M. Davis
Chairman and CEO, Merck

Shobha Dhadda, PhD
SVP, Global Head, Biostatistics & Project Operations, ADBH, Eisai Inc.

Mikael Dolsten, MD, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer and President, Worldwide Research, Development and Medical, Pfizer Inc.

Laura Esserman, MD, MBA
Director, UCSF Breast Care Center
Professor of Surgery & Radiology, University of California, San Francisco

Steve Frank
Chairman of Global Healthcare Investment Banking, JP Morgan

Keith Gottesdiener, MD
President & CEO, Prime Medicine

Fred Hassan
Managing Director, Healthcare, Warburg Pincus

Rachel Haurwitz, PhD
President & CEO, Caribou Biosciences

Katherine A. High, MD
Visiting Professor, Rockefeller University

Axel Hoos, MD, PhD
CEO, Scorpion Therapeutics

Kjel Johnson, PharmD
Vice President, Specialty Pharmacy Strategy, CVS Health

Dina Katabi, PhD
Director, MIT Center for Wireless Networks and Mobile Computing

Najat Khan, PhD
Chief Data Science Officer and Global Head Strategy & Operations, R&D, The Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson

Lynn D. Kramer, MD, FAAN
Chief Clinical Officer ADBH and Corporate Officer, Eisai Co., Ltd.

John Lepore, MD
CEO, Profound Therapeutics

Roger Longman
Founder & Chairman, Real Endpoints

Johan Luthman, PhD
EVP, Head of R&D, Lundbeck

Mathai Mammen, MD, PhD
CEO, FogPharma

Chronis Manolis, RPh
SVP, Pharmacy Services, Chief Pharmacy Officer, UPMC Insurance Services Division

Clive Meanwell, MD
Chairman and Partner, Population Health Partners

Bill Mezzanotte, MD, MPH
EVP, Head of R&D and Chief Executive Officer, CSL

Mark McKenna
Former Chairman and CEO, Prometheus Biosciences

Ajay Nirula, MD, PhD
SVP, Immunology, Site Head, Lilly Biotechnology Center San Diego, Eli Lilly & Company

Roger Perlmutter, MD, PhD
Chairman & CEO, Eikon Therapeutics, Inc

Karen Peterson
Patient Advocate

Andy Plump, MD, PhD
President, R&D, Takeda

Sylke Poehling, PhD
SVP and Global Head, Therapeutic Modalities, Pharma Research & Early Development, Roche

Sumant Ramachandra, MD, PhD
CEO & President, ImmPACT Bio

John Reed, MD, PhD
EVP, Innovative Medicine, R&D, Johnson & Johnson

David Reese, MD
EVP and Chief Technology Officer, Amgen

Alise Reicin, MD
CEO & President, Tectonic Therapeutics

Mark Simon, MBA
Advisor, Stifel 

Mary Szela
CEO and President, TriSalus Life Sciences

Philip Tagari
CSO, insitro

Lambert van der Walde
SVP, Executive Director, Center for Health Care Research, UnitedHealth Group

Michael Yee
Managing Director, Jefferies LLC

Tal Zaks, MD, PhD
Venture Partner, Orbimed

Elias Zerhouni, MD
Emeritus Professor, Johns Hopkins University

We are grateful for the support
​​​​​​​and participation from our past keynotes

Kenneth Frazier
Chairman of the Board and CEO, Merck & Co

Robert Bradway
CEO, Amgen

Joaquin Duato
Chairman, Pharmaceuticals, JnJ

Daphne Koller, PhD
Founder & CEO, insitro

George Yancopoulos, MD, PhD
Co-Founder, President & CSO, Regeneron

Bahija Jallal, PhD
former CEO, MedImmune

Deborah Dunsire, MD
Former CEO, Lundbeck

Vas Narasimhan, MD
CEO, Novartis

Rupert Vessey, DPhil
Chief Scientist, Executive Partner, Flagship Pioneering 

Scott Gottlieb, MD
23rd Commissioner, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
CNBC Contributor

Lars Rebien Sorensen
former CEO, Novo Nordisk

Brent Saunders
CEO and chairman, Bausch + Lomb

Many thanks to the executive team at ICON for all their support and to the entire speaking faculty, who brought their vast experience together to identify and collaborate over ideas that will advance therapeutics for the benefit of patients.

Our guests are as much a part of the event as our speaking faculty. Our ultimate goal is to foster a Summit environment that inspires positive change to advance R&D and to provide support for the leaders behind the movement.

For questions about the R&D Leadership Summit, ​​​​​​​please contact Tracey Kimball at Tracey@tcfllc.org or Valerie Bowling at Valerie@tcfllc.org.

image placeholder
image placeholder
image placeholder
image placeholder